Normal Size Small Size show me how
|What is the title of chapter 541 of the Transportation Code?
|Rules of the Road
|How many days must a police officer give a violator to appear in court when they give a promise to appear (traffic citation)
|What 2 offenses can you not arrest someone for and you MUST issue a promise to appaer
|speeding and open container
|What states are not a member of the Nonresident Violator Compact of 1977?
|Alaska, California, Oregon, Michigan, Montana, and Wisconsin
|What does a blood bank vehicle become when it is used in an emergency?
|Authorized emergency vehicle
|An operator exempt from the rules regulating traffic in the transportation code, may proceed past a red light after slowing down as necessary and the provisions of the Code do not protect the operator from the consequences of reckless disregard when?
|Running code to a call
|What may you do at a green light?
|Proceed straight ahead, make a u-turn unless prohibited by a sign, make a left turn providing oncoming traffic has cleared the intersection and make a right turn
|What is a warning to vehicular traffic that the related green movement is being terminated and that a red light will soon be exhibited?
|A steady yellow light
|What is a flashing red light?
|A stop sign
|What is one half hour after sunset until one half hour before sunrise?
|What is one half hour before sunrise until one half hour after sunset?
|What can a 16 year old in violation of a law in a vehicle receive?
|A ticket and so may the operator
|The shoulder of the road is a road that is that portion of the highway that is....
|Contiguous to the highway
|What is a person's signature on a traffic ticket?
|Not an admission of guilt and is a promise to appear in court
|You may not use this to indicate to a driver behind you a "Do Pass" situation.
|An example of when right of way is given to vehicles in situations and not certain vehicles in general is.
|A vehicle on the highway has the right of way to a vehicle entering the highway.
|The authorized distances within which a stop may be made at a railroad crossing.
|Within 50 feet but not closer than 15 feet from the nearest rail
|How long do you have to take a driver's safety course in order to dismiss a ticket?
|What is an improved shoulder?
|A paved shoulder
|Within how many feet of an intersection must you use a turn signal if you are turning?
|What must a school bus be?
|Painted yellow and have the words school bus on it.
|What type of license has a profile layout?
|A driver's license for someone over 21 has what type of layout
|How far behind an ambulance must you be if it is running code?
|Who can give someone permission to run over a fire hose?
|The Fire Commander on scene
|How old must you be to drive a school bus or taxi?
|At least 18 years old.
|What must you do at a flashing yellow light?
|Use caution but you do not have to yield.
|Prima Facie Speed for Urban District
|Prima Facie Speed for Alley
|Prima Facie Speed for Numbered Highway
|Prima Facie Speed for not a numbered highway
|Prima Facie Speed for an inspected school bus
|Prima Facie Speed for an uninspected school bus
|Prima Facie Speed for a beach
|A dirt road yields the right of way to?
|A paved road
|A service road yields the right of way to?
|Who has the right of way at an intersection where both vehicles arrive at the same time?
|The person on the right.
|The person on the left yields the right of way to?
|the person on the right
|Anytime someone is _______ to the road you are entering they have the right of way.
|When is it okay to drive on an improved shoulder?
|stop, stand, park, accelerate to enter the main road, decelerate to make a right turn, pass another vehicle that is slowing to make a left turn, to allow a vehicle going faster than you to pass, and to avoid a collision.
|Drivers and passengers must have heardear on a motorcycle unless:
|21 or older and completed a motorcycle training and safety course OR 21 or older and has health insurance
|What is a vehicle?
|A device that can be used to transport or draw persons or property on a highway.
|What is a motorcycle?
|A motor vehicle other than a tractor that is equipped with a rider's saddle and designed to have not more than 3 wheels on the ground when propelled.
|Who may get a driver's license?
|18 year olds or older
|Who may have a licnese once completed a training program?
|16 year olds
|Who may have a hardship license once completed a training program
|15 year olds
|What are the requirements of a hardship license?
|Must pass a driver's ed course, must pass written exam, must show that if you are denied it will place unusual economic hardship on your family, that it is necessary because of an ill family member
|What is a Class A License?
|26,001 or more gross vehicle weight rating - towing 10,001 or more
|What is a Class B License?
|26,000 or more gross vehicle weight rating - towing 10,000 or less
|What is a Class C license?
|Less than 26,001 gross vehicle weight rating and no combination of requirements of A or B license.
|When do you not have to stop for a school bus loading or unloading?
|You are on opposite side of the road and there is a protected median
|How long do military members have to get a driver's license?
|The offense of running a red light can only be an offense when?
|The light was in fact red and not yellow.
|What should you do if an emergence vehicle comes up behind you?
|Move to the right lane and stop if possible.
|How close does dumping have to be for it to be a public nuisance offense.
|300 feet or less from a public street
|What are the requirements for a vehicle's headlights?
|2 headlights, one on each side of the vehicle, 24-54 inches from the ground, and must be white and visible at a distance of 1000 feet.
|You are not permitted to pass anyone within how many feet of a railroad track or intersection?
|What should you do when making a right hand turn?
|Turn as close as practicable to the right curb.
|How far from the curb should your tires be when parking?
|18 inches or less
|What should you do when traffic is slowing?
|Slow down and stop if needed.
|When may you pass a vehicle on the right lane?
|When on a two lane road and the vehicle is stopped on the left.
|When must you stop when coming out of an alley?
|before the sidewalk
|What should you do at a solid yellow light?
|Slow down and prepare to stop
|What is a moped?
|motor driven cycle that cannot attain a speed of 30 mph in 1 mile and has a piston displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less.
|Who is charged with clearing livestock off of the roadway?
|Where must you stop at a stop sign?
|behind the withe line or before the intersection
|When can you make a left hand turn on red?
|When going from a one way street onto another one way street
|How many lights total are you allowed to have on the front of your vehicle?
|What is a light truck?
|has a manufacturer rated carrying capacity of 2,000 pounds or less
|What is a bus?
|Motor vehicle used to carry 10 or more passengers including the driver
|What may a horse, bicycle, etc. be considered when on the roadway?
|When does a pedestrian have the right of way?
|Inside a marked crosswalk.
|How far away from a fire hydrant must you park?
|How far away from a crosswalk must you park?
|How far away from a stop sign, yield sign, or traffic control device must you park?
|What type of license will the DMV issue you if you get a motorcycle license?
|When may you pass a school bus?
|After it has resumed motion, the driver signals that you may proceed and the visual sign is no longer actuated.
|What is a highway?
|A public highway that is in the designated state highway system, is designated a controlled access facility and has a minimum of 3 travel lanes in each direction of travel
|What is a passenger car?
|a motor vehicle used to transport persons and designed to accommodate 10 or fewer passengers including the driver
|What are tail lamp requirements?
|2 tail lamps, height from 15-72 inches, spaced as widely apart as practicable, must be red and visible at a distance of 1000 feet from the rear of the vehicle
|What are the license plate light requirements?
|must be white light and visible at a distance of 50 feet
|What are the stop lamp requirements?
|2 stop lamps, mounted on the rear of the vehicle, must be red or amber, visible at a distance of 300 feet and display when the brake is applied
|What are the turn signal lamp requirements?
|Must be in the front, rear and sides of vehicle; spaced as widely apart as practicable; white or amber on the front and red or amber on the back; must be visible from 500 feet if vehicle is 80 inches wide or more and 300 feet if less than 80 inches wide
|What are the reflector requirements?
|Must have 2 red reflectors on the rear and can be part of the tail lamp, mounted at a height of 15 - 60 inches, and visible at night at a distance of 100-600 feet.
|What is a roadway?
|portion of a municipal street that is improved, designed or ordinarily used for vehicular travel.
|What is a motor vehicle?
|motor driven or propelled vehicle required to be registered under the laws of this state; a travel trailer; an all terrain vehicle or a recreational off highway vehicle; and a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped that is not required to be registered
|When is a vehicle deemed to be abandoned?
|Has been left for longer than 48 hours on a highway and is subject to removal by a police officer
|What are the requirements when towing a vehicle?
|Must be no more than 15 feet between your vehicle and he one you are towing; must place a white flag in the middle of the tow bar/chain; and the flag must be 12" square
|You can have up to what percentage of tint?
|When must a train blow their horn?
|within 1500 feet of a railroad crossing
|What are the requirements when carrying a load?
|If sticks out over 4 feet from the back of the vehicle you must tie a red flag on the end of the load and it has to be 12" square
|What is a farm tractor?
|A motor vehicle designed and used primarily as a farm implement to draw an implement of husbandry, including a plow or a mowing machine
|What chapter of the Texas Penal Code is DWI found in?
|How close to a railroad crossing or an intersection can you not pass?
|within 100 feet
|When can you be held for negligent behavior that causes harm?
|If violating company policy
|What is the first thing you do when arriving on the scene of a crash?
|Check on the people involved in the crash.
|Who sets the prima facie speed limits?
|Texas Department of Transportation
|What is it when you drive at a rate greater than is reasonable and prudent under then circumstances existing?
|How many days do you have to get a vehicle inspected after it expires?
|How many days do you have to get a vehicle registered after it expires?
|5 business days
|When operating a vehicle that emits visible smoke for 10 second or longer or smoke that remains suspended in the air for 10 seconds it is a what?
|You may not operate a vehicle equipped with what?
|red, white or blue beacon flashing or alternating light
|Where may an operator not back a vehicle?
|on a shoulder or roadway of a limited access or controlled access highway
|How old must you be to ride in the bed of a truck?
|18 years old
|It is an offense to transport a child without a car seat when?
|The child is younger than 8 years old, unless the child is taller than 4 feet 9 inches.