Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Chapter 4 Vocabulary

Chapter 4: Food and Nutrition

Dietary Reference Intakes (DRls) Is a set of nutrient reference values
Recommended Dietary Allowances A planning tool that has been published since 1943. RDAs are suggested levels of nutrient intake to meet the needs of most healthy people.
Estimated Average Requirement (EAR) A nutrient recommendation estimated to meet the need of half the healthy people in a group.
Adequate Intake (Al) Another type of value set for nutrients. This value is determined for nutrients for which research is inconclusive.
Upper Tolerable Intake Level (UL) Is the fourth reference standard. It represents the maximum level at which a nutrient is unlikely to cause a poisonous reaction.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans A set of seven recommendations developed by the United States Departments of Agriculture and Health and Human Services to help healthy people over age two know what to eat to stay healthy.
Food Guide Pyramids Is a visual tool used to help people plan healthful diets according to the Dietary Guidelines for Americans. It divides foods into five main groups. It also recommends a range od daily serving people should eat from each group.
Serving Sizes Is the amount of a food item customarily eaten at one time
Daily Values Are recommended nutrient intakes based on daily calorie needs.
Nutrient density Is a comparison of the nutrients provided by a food with the calories provided by the food.
Food diary Is a record of the kinds and amounts of foods and beverages.
Created by: ginaa