Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.

By signing up, I agree to StudyStack's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.

Remove ads
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards

Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how


Review of Buddhism

What does "The stream is flowing"/"The flowing is the stream" mean? Stream is never constant, but flowing is. Pick up two cups of water from stream, they are two different cups of water. Relates to anicca and anatta: nothing in the world is permanent/static. Also ongoing flow of thoughts, perceptions, fears, hopes…etc
Anatta One of the Three Marks of Existence. The Buddhist doctrine denying a permanent self.
Anicca One of the Three Marks of Existence. The Buddhist doctrine that all existent things are constantly changing.
Arhat One who has become enlightened. The ideal type for Theravada Buddhism.
Buddha Gautama and all others who have by their own insight attained perfect enlightenment.
Dalai Lama The spiritual leader of Vajrayana (Tibetan) Buddhism.
Dharma The teachings of the Buddha. One of the Three Jewels of Buddhism.
Dukkha The First of the Four Noble Truths. Basic Buddhist insight that suffering is part of the human condition.
Five Precepts The basic moral requirements that are binding for all Buddhists.
Four Noble Truths The central teachings of Buddhism. To live is to suffer, suffering is caused by desire, the cessation of suffering can be achieved, the solution is the Noble Eightfold Path.
Karma The moral law of cause and effect of actions. Determines the nature of one’s rebirth.
Mahayana The largest of Buddhism’s three divisions, prevalent in China, Japan, and Korea. Emphasizes on devotion and prayer to the Buddhas.
Middle Way A basic Buddhist teaching that rejects both the pleasures of sensual indulgence and the self-denial of asceticism, focusing instead on a practical approach to spiritual attainment.
Nirvana The ultimate goal of all Buddhists, the extinction of desire and any sense of individual selfhood, resulting in liberation from samsara and its limiting conditions.
Noble Eightfold Path The fourth of the Noble Four Truths. Defines the basic practices of Buddhism that lead to nirvana.
Samsara The wheel of rebirth and reincarnation.
Sangha The Buddhist community of Monks and nuns. One of the Three Jewels of Buddhism .
Tanha The second of the Four Noble truths. It is selfish desire, which causes dukkha.
Theravada Prevalent form of Buddhism in Cambodia, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand. Focuses mainly on the earliest texts and emphasizes monastic lifestyle.
Three Marks of Existence Characteristics that summarize the changing nature of reality: anatta (no-self), anicca (impermanence), and dukkha (suffering).
Vajrayana Prevalent form of Buddhism in Tibet. Emphasizes the harnessing of sensual energies to attain nirvana.
The Four Passing Sights decrepit old man diseased man corpse for the first time religious ascetic man, who had chosen to lead a homeless life of solitude and self-denial.
The Middle Way Starvation did not lead to salvation. The Middle Way holds that a healthy spiritual life depends on a healthy physical life. Though it rejects indulgence in bodily pleasure, it does not reject the body itself.
Enlightenment Gautama entered a meditative trance. He ascended through levels of ever deepening awareness, until he could perceive with perfect clarity the true nature of the human condition.
Founding of the Sangha His depth of compassion compelled him to remain in the world. Being a Buddhist means taking refuge in the tradition’s Three Jewels: the Buddha, the Dharma (Buddha’s teachings),and the Sangha (The Buddhist monastic community).
A shared cosmology Buddhism and Hinduism:universe is eternal, with ages of creation and destruction following one after another + doctrine of samsara Gautama rejected Hinduism, in which only males of the Brahmin class controlled the sacrificial rituals and sacred texts.
Three Marks of Existence Anatta: no ultimate reality within, no essence underlying existence, no eternal substrantum that is truly real, enduring beyond the present moment. This means no-self Anicca: Existence constantly changing Dukkha: Natural result of anicca and anatta.
Five Precepts 1)Don’t take life 2)Don’t take what is not given 3)Don’t engage in sensuous misconduct 4)Don’t use false speech 5)Don’t drink intoxicants
Precepts for Monks 6)Don’t eat after noon 7)Don’t watch dancing or shows 8)Don’t use garlands, perfume or ornaments 9)Don’t use a high or soft bed 10)Don’t accept gold or silver
Noble Four Truths 1)To live is to suffer – Dukkha 2)Suffering is caused by desire – Tanha 3)Suffering can be brought to cessation – Prognosis 4)The solution to suffering is the Eightfold Path – Noble Eightfold Path
Created by: superchickgirl5