Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.

By signing up, I agree to StudyStack's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.

Remove ads
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards

Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how


Buddhist terms and names

The Four Passing Sights the Old Man, the Dead Man, the Diseased man, and the Holy man.
The Four Noble Truths To live is to suffer; suffering is caused by desire; the cessation of suffering can be achieved; the solution is the Noble Eigthfold Path.
The Noble Eightfold Path right views, right intentions, right speech, right conduct, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, right meditation.
The Three Jewels Buddha, Dharma(the Buddhist teachings), and the Sangha (the Buddhist monastic community)
The Three Branches of Buddhism Mahayana, "the Great Vehicle" prevalent in China Japan and Korea; Theravada- "way of the elders" prevalent in Cambodia, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, and Thailand; Vajarayyana- "Vehicle of the Diamond" named for Buddha's scepter. prevalent in Tibet.
Three Marks of Existence Anatta- means no ultimate reality within. Anicca- "impermanence." Focuses on idea that existence is constantly changin. Dukkha- "suffering"
The Five Precepts do not take life, do not take what is not given, do not engage in sensuous misconduct, do not use false speech, do not drink intoxicants
Doctrine of the Middle Way A basic buddhist teaching that rejects both pleasures of sensual indulgence and self-denial of asceticism, focusing instead on a practical approach to spiritual attainment.
Dali Lama The Spiritual Leader of the Vajryana Buddhism, believed to be an incarnation of the bodhisattva Avalokiteshvara.
Nirvana The ultimate goal of all Buddhists, the extinction of desire and any sense of individual selfhood, resulting in liberation from samsara and its limiting conditions.