Busy. Please wait.
Log in with Clever

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 
Sign up using Clever

Username is available taken
show password

Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
Your email address is only used to allow you to reset your password. See our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Didn't know it?
click below
Knew it?
click below
Don't know
Remaining cards (0)
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Religion (Part 2)

A Closer Look At Sacraments.

Categorise the sacraments into 3 categories. Initiation- Baptism, confirmation, eucharist. Service- marriage, holy orders. Healing- penance, anointing of the sick
Select one sacrament, describe it and outline its importance in the life of a catholic. Baptism is a sacrament of initiation. It has been practiced since the time of Christ. It involves welcoming new member of the Christian community. It involves celebrations and festivities. We are born to new life and are freed from original sin.
Describe the link between the sacrament of baptism and confirmation. The purpose of confirmation is to perfect in us that which we started in Baptism. In a sense, we are baptised in order to be confirmed.
What are sacraments? Sacraments are specific signs of God's actions in the world. Receiving sacraments helps us build a relationship with God.
What are the 7 sacraments? Eucharist, confirmation, baptism, holy orders, anointing of the sick, marriage and penance.
Where did the word sacrament come from? The latin word sacramentum meaning a holy oath made in the presence of God.
What is grace? The action of God in the world.
What is the original sin? When Adam and Eve disobeyed God and ate the forbidden fruit.
List a visible sign of each of the sacraments. Baptism - holy water. Confirmation - laying of hands. Eucharist - Bread and wine. Anointing of the sick - holy oil. Marriage - ring. Holy order - laying of hands. Penance - confessing sorrow.
Created by: beckarr99
Popular Religion sets




Use these flashcards to help memorize information. Look at the large card and try to recall what is on the other side. Then click the card to flip it. If you knew the answer, click the green Know box. Otherwise, click the red Don't know box.

When you've placed seven or more cards in the Don't know box, click "retry" to try those cards again.

If you've accidentally put the card in the wrong box, just click on the card to take it out of the box.

You can also use your keyboard to move the cards as follows:

If you are logged in to your account, this website will remember which cards you know and don't know so that they are in the same box the next time you log in.

When you need a break, try one of the other activities listed below the flashcards like Matching, Snowman, or Hungry Bug. Although it may feel like you're playing a game, your brain is still making more connections with the information to help you out.

To see how well you know the information, try the Quiz or Test activity.

Pass complete!
"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards