Busy. Please wait.
Log in with Clever

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 
Sign up using Clever

Username is available taken
show password

Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
Your email address is only used to allow you to reset your password. See our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Didn't know it?
click below
Knew it?
click below
Don't Know
Remaining cards (0)
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Monarchs + Years

English monarchs and the years during which they reigned

Egbert 802-839
Aethelwulf 839-858
Aethelbald 858-860
Aethelbert 860-866
Aethelred 866-871
Alfred the Great 871-899
Edward the Elder 899-925
Athelstan 925-940
Edmund the Magnificent 940-946
Eadred 946-955
Eadwig (Edwy) All-Fair 955-959
Edgar the Peaceful 959-975
Edward the Martyr 975-978
Ethelred II (Ethelred the Unready) 979-1013 and 1014-1016
Edmund II (Ironside) 1016
Svein Forkbeard 1014
Cnut (Canute) 1016-1035
Harold I 1035-1040
Hardicnut 1040-1042
Edward (the Confessor) 1042-1066
Harold II (Godwinson) 1066
William I 1066-1087
William II 1087-1100
Henry I 1100-1135
Stephen 1135-1154
Empress Matilda 1141
Henry II 1154-1189
Richard I 1189-1199
John 1199-1216
Henry III 1216-1272
Edward I 1272-1307
Edward II 1307-1327
Edward III 1327-1377
Richard II 1377-1399
Henry IV 1399-1413
Henry V 1413-1422
Henry VI 1422-1461
Edward IV 1461-1483
Edward V 1483
Richard III 1483-1485
Henry VII 1485-1509
Henry VIII 1509-1547
Edward VI 1547-1553
Jane Grey 1553
Mary I 1553-1558
Elizabeth I 1558-1603
James I 1603-1625
Charles I 1625-1649
Oliver Cromwell 1649-1658
Richard Cromwell 1658-1659
Charles II 1660-1685
James II 1685-1688
William III 1689-1702
Mary II 1689-1694
Anne 1702-1714
George I 1714-1727
George II 1727-1760
George III 1760-1820
George IV 1820-1830
William IV 1830-1837
Victoria 1837-1901
Edward VII 1901-1910
George V 1910-1936
Edward VIII 1936
George VI 1936-1952
Elizabeth II 1952-Present
Created by: GlasgowGal
Popular History sets




Use these flashcards to help memorize information. Look at the large card and try to recall what is on the other side. Then click the card to flip it. If you knew the answer, click the green Know box. Otherwise, click the red Don't know box.

When you've placed seven or more cards in the Don't know box, click "retry" to try those cards again.

If you've accidentally put the card in the wrong box, just click on the card to take it out of the box.

You can also use your keyboard to move the cards as follows:

If you are logged in to your account, this website will remember which cards you know and don't know so that they are in the same box the next time you log in.

When you need a break, try one of the other activities listed below the flashcards like Matching, Snowman, or Hungry Bug. Although it may feel like you're playing a game, your brain is still making more connections with the information to help you out.

To see how well you know the information, try the Quiz or Test activity.

Pass complete!
"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards