Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

M6 13-005

Exam 18: Loss, Grief and the Dying Patient

Thanatologists identify stages of grief and dying
Kubler-Ross: Stages of Grief/Dying Denial. Anger. Bargaining. Depression. Acceptance.
Denial: reaction "No, not me." Description: Individual acts as though nothing has happened and may refuse to believe or understand loss has occurred.
Anger: reaction "Why me?" Description: Individual resists the loss and may strike out at everyone and everything.
Bargaining: Reaction "Yes, but..." Description: Individual postpones awareness of reality of the loss and may try to deal in a subtle or overt way as though the loss can be prevented.
Depression: reaction "Yes, me." Description: Individual feels overwhelmingly lonely and withdraws from interpersonal reaction.
Acceptance: Reaction "I am ready." Description: Individual accepts the loss and looks into the future.
Types of Eutanasia Passive Euthanasia. Active Euthanasia.
Passive Euthanasia Death occurs as a result of withholding treatment that might extend life, such as medication, life-support or feeding tubes
Active Euthanasia An action taken deliberately with the purpose of shortening life to end suffering or to carry out the wishes of the terminally ill
Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) (1) No cardiopulmonary resuscitation performed for a patient; this is the explicit desire of the patient/family in consultation with the doctor.
Advanced Directives Signed and witnessed providing specific instructions for health care treatment in the event that a person is unable to make those decisions at the time they are needed
Patient Self-Determination Act Requires healthcare institutions to provide written information to patients concerning the patient’s rights under state law to make decisions, including the right to refuse treatment and formulate advanced directives
Living Will Legal document that describes in detail what medical care a person wants if they are terminally ill. Two witnesses are required, neither may be a relative or physician.
Durable Power of Attorney Designates an agent, surrogate, or proxy to make healthcare decisions on the patient’s behalf based on the patient’s wishes. Legally prepared, signed and witnessed document that must be notarized.
Created by: jtzuetrong