Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.

Remove ads
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards

Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Prime Ministers by d

By Date

1st Earl of Halifax (Whig) 1714-1715
3rd Earl of Carlisle (Whig) 1715-1715
Robert Walpole (Whig) 1715-1717
1st Viscount Stanhope James Stanhope (Whig) 1717-1718
3rd Earl of Sunderland Charles Spencer (Whig) 1718-1721
Robert Walpole (Whig) 1721-1742
Spencer Compton 1st Earl of Wilmington (Whig) 1742-1743
Henry Pelham (Whig) 1743-1754
Thomas Pelham-Holles 1st Duke of Newcastle (Whig) 1754-1756
William Cavendish 4th Duke of Devonshire (Whig) 1756-1757
Thomas Pelham-Holles 1st Duke of Newcastle (Whig) 1757-1762
John Stuart 3rd Earl of Bute (Tory) 1762-1763
George Grenville (Whig) 1763-1765
Charles Watson-Wentworth 2nd Marquess of Rockingham (Whig) 1765-1766
William Pitt the Elder 1st Earl of Chatham 1766-1768
Augustus Fitzroy 3rd Duke of Grafton (Whig) 1768-1770
Lord North (Tory) 1770–1782
Marquis of Rockingham (Whig) 1782–1782
Earl of Shelburne (Whig) 1782–1783
Duke of Portland (Coalition) 1783–1783
William Pitt, the Younger (Tory) 1783–1801
Henry Addington (Tory) 1801–1804
William Pitt, the Younger (Tory) 1804–1806
Baron Grenville (Whig) 1806–1807
Duke of Portland (Tory) 1807–1809
Spencer Perceval (Tory) 1809–1812
Earl of Liverpool (Tory) 1812–1827
George Canning (Tory) 1827–1827
Viscount Goderich (Tory) 1827–1828
Duke of Wellington (Tory) 1828–1830
Earl Grey (Whig) 1830–1834
Viscount Melbourne (Whig) 1834–1834
Sir Robert Peel (Tory) 1834–1835
Viscount Melbourne (Whig) 1835–1841
Sir Robert Peel (Tory) 1841–1846
Earl Russell (Whig) 1846–1852
Earl of Derby (Tory) 1852–1852
Earl of Aberdeen (Coalition) 1852–1855
Viscount Palmerston (Liberal) 1855–1858
Earl of Derby (Conservative) 1858–1859
Viscount Palmerston (Liberal) 1859–1865
Earl Russell (Liberal) 1865–1866
Earl of Derby (Conservative) 1866–1868
Benjamin Disraeli (Conservative) 1868–1868
William E. Gladstone (Liberal) 1868–1874
Benjamin Disraeli (Conservative) 1874–1880
William E. Gladstone (Liberal) 1880–1885
Marquis of Salisbury (Conservative) 1885–1886
William E. Gladstone (Liberal) 1886–1886
Marquis of Salisbury (Conservative) 1886–1892
William E. Gladstone (Liberal) 1892–1894
Earl of Rosebery (Liberal) 1894–1895
Marquis of Salisbury (Conservative) 1895–1902
Arthur James Balfour (Conservative) 1902–1905
Sir H. Campbell-Bannerman (Liberal) 1905–1908
Herbert H. Asquith (Liberal) 1908–1915
Herbert H. Asquith (Coalition) 1915–1916
David Lloyd George (Coalition) 1916–1922
Andrew Bonar Law (Conservative) 1922–1923
Stanley Baldwin (Conservative) 1923–1924
James Ramsay MacDonald (Labour) 1924–1924
Stanley Baldwin (Conservative) 1924–1929
James Ramsay MacDonald (Labour) 1929–1931
James Ramsay MacDonald (Coalition) 1931–1935
Stanley Baldwin (Coalition) 1935–1937
Neville Chamberlain (Coalition) 1937–1940
Winston Churchill (Coalition) 1940–1945
Clement R. Attlee (Labour) 1945–1951
Sir Winston Churchill (Conservative) 1951–1955
Sir Anthony Eden (Conservative) 1955–1957
Harold Macmillan (Conservative) 1957–1963
Sir Alec Frederick Douglas-Home (Conservative) 1963–1964
Harold Wilson (Labour) 1964–1970
Edward Heath (Conservative) 1970–1974
Harold Wilson (Labour) 1974–1976
James Callaghan (Labour) 1976–1979
Margaret Thatcher (Conservative) 1979–1990
John Major (Conservative) 1990–1997
Tony Blair (Labour) 1997–2007
Gordon Brown (Labour) 2007–2010
David Cameron (Coalition) 2010–
Created by: tob789