Busy. Please wait.
Log in with Clever

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 
Sign up using Clever

Username is available taken
show password

Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
Your email address is only used to allow you to reset your password. See our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Didn't know it?
click below
Knew it?
click below
Don't Know
Remaining cards (0)
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Federal Programs

Indian Reorganization Act Also known as teh Wheeler-Howard Act (1934), maintained and developed Indian lands and resources by granting the right to create businesses, allowing home rule, and offering vocational education.
Demonstration Cities and Metropolitan Development Act of 1966 This was the central component of President Lyndon Johnson's Great Society program, and established the "model cities program" = sought to rebuild communities socially and economically rather than physically.
Demonstration Cities and Metropolitan Development Act of 1966 (cont.) Its goal was to revitalize communities and eliminate blight and poverty through community participation. This approach was markedly from earlier programs, which were focused on top-down community planning. President Nixon eliminated this act in 1973.
Homestead Act of 1862 The Homestead Act offered 160 acres to any settler willing to reside on the land for five consecutive years. Because the land did not receive sufficient rain to grow crops, the government was forced to undertake major irrigation projects in the West.
Farmland Protection Act of 1981 This worked to preserve farmland by limiting the ability of federal programs to convert farmland to non-farming uses. Under the direction of the Dept. of Agriculture, this act established criteria for determining the impact of farmland conversion.
Federal Forest Legacy Program of 1990 This program preserved farmland by granting federal funds to state governments.
Federal Farm and Ranchland Protection Program of 1996 This preserved ranch and farmland by giving federal grants to land trusts and state and local governments.
Public Works Administration 1934. PWA helped stabilize the Depression era economy by funding more than 34,000 construction projects, which created public housing, schools, hospitals, dams and airports. The PWA created jobs and stopped decline of purchasing power. Eliminated in 1941
Works Progress Administration 1935. WPA sought to promote economic growth and development through urban planning. The WPA funded highway and building construction, slum clearance, and other projects as a means of creating work for the unemployed and helping local economies.
Urban Development Action Grant 1977. UDAG spurred economic development by allowing for acquisition of clearance of lands. Encouraged cooperation btw public and private, and improved gov coord. Only eligible communities could apply for UDAG, and they had to compete for assistance.
Economic Development Administration 1965. EDA provided federal grants to communities for site acquisition, grading, and provision of utilities. After sites were prepared, firms would lease or purchase them, and create various projects such as industrial parks and business incubators.
Community Reinvestment Act 1977. CRA required lenders to offer mortgage loans to low income and economically depressed areas. The CRA prohibited redlining, which ocurs when lenders refuse to offer mortgage loans to certain neighborhoods based on their income or ethnicity
Antiquities Act 1906. The Antiquities Act was a federal program that protects archeological and historical sites by classifying them as national monuments. Any historical site within the public domain can be classified as a national monument.
The Historic Sites, Building and Antiquities Act 1935. This act required that federal agencies incorporate a concern for historical preservation into their programs and plans. Additionally, the Secretary of Interior must seek out, acquire, and repair historic sites.
The National Trust for Historic Preservation 1949. Works to preserve historical sites and to restore communities. A private, non-profit organization.
National Historic Preservation Act 1966. Created the National Register of Historic Places, which protects historical sites from federal projects if the site has been classified as either "designated or potentially eligible for historical site designation".
Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act 1991. ISTEA, provided federal funding for scenic byways and historic preservation.
U.S. Resettlement Administration 1935. Enacted various land reform and population resettlement legislation as part of the New Deal.
National Flood Insurance Act 1968. Established the national flood insurance program, which provides flood insurance for home and business owners in a flood prone area. According to the act, homes in designated flood plains must be elevated or flood proof (businesses).
Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act 1988. Required every state to assign a "state hazard mitigation officer" (SHMO) who works to lessen the potential impact of natural disasters.
Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (cont.) Under the Act, the federal government provides funds to state and local government for disaster relief; however, state and local governments are required to match 25% of the federal funds paid to them
Empowerment Zones and Enterprise Zones 1994. These are normally blighted urban areas to which the federal government provides funding, tax relief, sales tax reductions, low-interest financing, wage tax credits, and other measures to encourage investment and facilitate economic growth.
Empowerment Zones and Enterprise Zones (cont.) Bill Clinton created these zones as means of making impoverished urban areas more competitive with affluent areas.
Disaster Mitigation Act 2000. Requires state and local gov to plan for natural disasters as well as human-induced disasters. State govs and municipalities must identify possible natural risks, assess the potential impact of the risks, and prepare strategies to mitigate risks
Religious Land Use and Institutionalized Persons Act RLUIPA - 2000. Forbids governments from engaging in a land use that significantly restricts religious exercises or assemblies unless such a land use furthers a government interest in a substantial way.
Created by: jlongabaugh
Popular History sets




Use these flashcards to help memorize information. Look at the large card and try to recall what is on the other side. Then click the card to flip it. If you knew the answer, click the green Know box. Otherwise, click the red Don't know box.

When you've placed seven or more cards in the Don't know box, click "retry" to try those cards again.

If you've accidentally put the card in the wrong box, just click on the card to take it out of the box.

You can also use your keyboard to move the cards as follows:

If you are logged in to your account, this website will remember which cards you know and don't know so that they are in the same box the next time you log in.

When you need a break, try one of the other activities listed below the flashcards like Matching, Snowman, or Hungry Bug. Although it may feel like you're playing a game, your brain is still making more connections with the information to help you out.

To see how well you know the information, try the Quiz or Test activity.

Pass complete!
"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards