Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.

Remove ads

From Heian to Ming (end)

Quiz yourself by thinking what should be in each of the black spaces below before clicking on it to display the answer.

Heian   The Heian period is the last division of classical Japanese history, running from 794 to 1185 C.E. The period is named after the capital city of Heian-kyō, or modern Kyōto.  
Kamakura   The Kamakura period (1185–1333) is a period that marks governance by the Kamakura shogunate, officially established in 1192 AD in Kamakura, by first shogun Minamoto Yoritomo. Known for emergence of samurai, warrior caste, and establishment of feudalism  
Muromachi   Japanese history (abt 1337-1573) Period of Muromachi or Ashikaga shogunate governance (bakufu), officially established in 1338 by first Muromachi shogun, Ashikaga Takauji Ended in 1573 when Ashikaga Yoshiaki, driven out of capital Kyoto by Oda Nobunaga.  
Tokugawa   The Tokugawa shogunate was last feudal Japanese military government which existed between 1603 and 1868. Heads of gov't were shoguns, and each was of Tokugawa clan. became known as the Edo period.  
Qin   The Qin dynasty was the first imperial dynasty of China (221 to 206 BC) Formed after conquest of 6 other states by state of Qin, and founding emperor was known as Qin Shi Huang, the First Emperor of Qin.  
Han   The Han dynasty and succeeded by the Three Kingdoms (220–280 AD). It was founded by the rebel leader Liu Bang, known posthumously as Emperor Gaozu of Han. It was briefly interrupted by the Xin dynasty (9–23 AD) of the former regent Wang Mang.  
Tang   Dynasty of China preceded by the Sui dynasty and followed by the Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms period. Founded by Li family (李), who seized power during collapse of Sui Empire. Briefly interrupted when Empress Wu seized throne, proclaiming 2nd Zhou Dyn  
Song   Succeeded 5 Dynasties & 10 Kingdoms period. 1st government in world history to nationally issue banknotes or true paper money, and to establish a permanent standing navy, the 1st known use of gunpowder, 1st discernment of true north using compass.  
Yuan   Great Yuan Great Mongol State was the empire established by Kublai Khan, leader of the Mongolian Borjigin clan. In 1271 Kublai Khan officially proclaimed the dynasty in the traditional Chinese style.  
Ming   Ruling dynasty of China for 276 years (1368–1644) after collapse of Yuan. The Ming, described by some as "one of the greatest eras of orderly government and social stability in human history," was the last dynasty in China ruled by ethnic Han Chinese.  


Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how
Created by: anonymous10