Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Nobel- Literature

Nobel Prize for Literature

1902 Theodor Mommsen German
1903 Bjornstjerne Bjornson Norwegian
1904 Fredric Mistral, Jose Echegaray French, Spanish
1905 Henryk Sienkiewicz Polish
1906 Giosue Carducci Italian
1907 Rudyard Kipling British
1908 Rudolf C. Eucken German
1909 Selma Lagerlof Swedish
1910 Paul J. L. Heyse German
1911 Maurice Maeterlinck Belgian
1912 Gerhart Hauptmann German
1913 Rabindran Tagore Indian
1914 1914 None 1914 None
1915 Romain Rolland French
1916 Verner Von Heidenstam Swedish
1917 Karl A Gjellerup, Henrik Pontoppidan Danish, Danish
1918 1918 None 1918 None
1919 Carl F. G. Splitteler Swiss
1920 Knut Hamsun Norwegian
1921 Anatole France French
1922 Jacinto Benaventley Martinez Spanish
1923 William Butler Yeats Irish
1924 Wladyslaw S. Reymont Polish
1925 George Bernard Shaw British (B. Ireland)
1926 Grazia Deledda Italian
1927 Henri Bergson French
1928 Sigrid Undset Norwegian (B. Denmark)
1929 Thomas Mann German
1930 Sinclair Lewis American
1931 Erik A. Karlfeldt Swedish (Posthumously)
1932 John Glasworthy English
1933 Ivan A. Bunin French (B. Russia)
1934 Luigi Prandello Italian
1935 1935 None 1935 None
1936 Eugene O'Neill American
1937 Roger MArtin Du Gard French
1938 Pearl S. Buck American
1939 Frans E. Sillanpaa Finnish
1940 1940 None 1940 None
1941 1941 None 1941 None
1942 1942 None 1942 None
1943 1943 None 1943 None
1944 Johannes V. Jenson Danish
1945 Gabriela Mistral Chilean
1946 Herrmann Hesse Swiss (B. Germany)
1947 Andre Gide French
1948 T. S. Elliot British (B. USA)
1949 William Faulkner American
1950 Bertrand A. W. Russell British
1951 Par F. Lagerkvist Swedish
1952 Francois Mauriac French
1953 Sir Winston Churchill British
1954 Ernest Hemmingway American
1955 Halldor K. Laxness Icelandic
1956 Juan Ramon Jimenez Spanish
1957 Albert camus French
1958 Boris L. Pasternak Russian (Declined)
1959 Salvatore Quasimodo Italian
1960 Saint-John Perse French
1961 Ivo Andric Yugoslav
1962 John Steinbeck American
1963 George Seferis Greek
1964 Jean-Paul Sartre French (declined)
1965 Mikhail A. Sholokhov Russian
1966 Shmuel J. Agnon, Nelly Sachs Israeli (b. Poland), Swedish (b. Germany)
1967 Miguel Angel Asturias Guatemalan
1968 Yasunari Kawabata Japanese
1969 Samuel Beckett Anglo-French (b. Ireland)
1970 Alexander I. Solzhenitsyn Russian
1971 Pablo Neruda Chilean
1972 Henrich Boll German
1973 Patrick White Australian
1974 Swedish
1975 Eugenio Montale Italian
1976 Saul Bellow American
1977 Vicente Aleixandre Spanish
1978 Isaac Bashevis Singer American (b. Poland)
1979 Odysseus Elytis Greek
1980 Czeslaw Milosz Polish-American
1981 Elias Canetti Bulgarian
1982 Gabriel Gaarcia Marquez Colombian
1983 British
1984 Jaroslav Seifert Czech
1985 Claude Simon French
1986 Wole Soyinka Nigerian
1987 Joseph Brodsky Russian-American
1988 Naguib Mahfouz Egyptian
1989 Camilo Jose Cela Spanish
1990 Octavio Paz Mexican
1991 Nadine Gordimer South African
1992 Derek Walcott West Indian
1993 Toni Morrison American
1994 Kenzaburo Oe Japanese
1995 Seamus Heaney Northern Irish
1996 Wislawa Szymborska Polish
1997 Dario Fo Italian
1998 Jose Saramago Portuguese
1999 Gunter grass Federation Republic of Germany
2000 Gao Xingjian France (b. China)
2001 V. S. Naipaul United Kingdom (b. Trinidad)
1901 Rene F.A. Sully-Prudhomme French
Created by: mtiedeman