Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

USA Presidents

By terms of office, up to 2006.

Term of OfficePresidentOrderPartyVP(s)
1789-1797 George Washington 1 None/Federalist John Adams
1797-1801 John Adams 2 Federalist Thomas Jefferson
1801-1809 Thomas Jefferson 3 Democratic-Republican Aaron Burr, George Clinton
1809-1817 James Madison 4 Democratic-Republican George Clinton, Elbridge Gerry
1817-1825 James Monroe 5 Democratic-Republican Daniel Tompkins
1825-1829 John Quincy Adams 6 Democratic-Republican John Caldwell Calhoun
1829-1837 Andrew Jackson 7 Democratic John Caldwell Calhoun, Martin van Buren
1837-1841 Martin van Buren 8 Democratic Richard Johnson
1841 William Henry Harrison 9 Whig John Tyler
1841-1845 John Tyler 10 Whig NOBODY!!
1845-1849 James Polk 11 Democratic George Dallas
1849-1850 Zachary Taylor 12 Whig Millard Fillmore
1850-1853 Millard Fillmore 13 Whig NOBODY!!
1853-1857 Franklin Pierce 14 Democratic William King
1857-1861 James Buchanan 15 Democratic John Cabell Breckinridge
1861-1865 Abraham Lincoln 16 Republican Hannibal Hamlin, Andrew Johnson
1865-1869 Andrew Johnson 17 Democratic NOBODY!!
1869-1877 Ulysses Simpson Grant 18 Republican Schuyler Colfax, Henry Wilson
1877-1881 Rutherford Birchard Hayes 19 Republican William Wheeler
1881 James Abram Garfield 20 Republican Chester Alan Arthur
1881-1885 Chester Alan Arthur 21 Republican NOBODY!!
1885-1889 Stephen Grover Cleveland 22 Democratic Thomas Hendricks
1889-1893 Benjamin Harrison VI 23 Republican Levi Morton
1893-1897 Stephen Grover Cleveland 24 Democratic Adlai Ewing Stevenson I
1897-1901 William McKinley 25 Republican Garrett Hobart, Theodore Roosevelt Jr.
1901-1909 Theodore Roosevelt Jr. 26 Republican Charles Fairbanks
1909-1913 Wiliam Howard Taft 27 Republican James Sherman
1913-1921 Thomas Woodrow Wilson 28 Democratic Thomas Marshall
1921-1923 Warren Gamaliel Harding 29 Republican John Calvin Coolidge Jr.
1923-1929 John Calvin Coolidge Jr. 30 Republican Charles Dawes
1929-1933 Herbert Clark Hoover 31 Republican Charles Curtis
1933-1945 Franklin Delano Roosevelt 32 Democratic John Garner, Henry Wallace, Harry S. Truman
1945-1953 Harry S. Truman 33 Democratic Alben William Barkley
1953-1961 Dwight David Eisenhower 34 Republican Richard Milhous Nixon
1961-1963 John Fitzgerald Kennedy 35 Democratic Lyndon Baines Johnson
1963-1969 Lyndon Baines Johnson 36 Democratic Hubert Horatio Humphrey II
1969-1974 Richard Milhous Nixon 37 Republican Spiro Agnew, Gerald Rudolph Ford
1974-1977 Gerald Rudolph Ford 38 Republican Nelson Rockefeller
1977-1981 James Earl Carter Jr. 39 Democratic Walter Frederick "Fritz" Mondale
1981-1989 Ronald Wilson Reagan 40 Republican George Herbert Walker Bush
1989-1993 George Herbert Walker Bush 41 Republican James Danforth Quayle
1993-2001 William Jefferson Clinton 42 Democratic Albert Arnold Gore, Jr.
2001- George Walker Bush 43 Republican Richard Bruce "Dick" Cheney
Created by: Serein