Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Physics Nobel Winner

Nobel Physics Winners

YearPerson(s)What They Did
1903 Antoine Henri Becquerel w/ Pierre & Marie Curie Becquerel - "his discovery of spontaneous radioactivity" Curies - "their joint researches on the radiation phenomena..."
1904 John William Strutt "for his investigations of the densities of the most important gases and for his discovery of argon in connection with these studies"
1906 Sir Joseph John (J.J.) Thomson "his theoretical and experimental investigations on the conduction of electricity by gases"
1907 Albert Abraham Michelson "for his optical precision instruments and the spectroscopic and metrological investigations carried out with their aid"
1908 Gabriel Lippman "for his method of reproducing colors photographically based on the phenomenon of interference"
1909 Guglielmo Marconi and Karl Braun "their contributions to the development of wireless telegraphy"
1910 Johannes Diderik van der Waals "for his work on the equation of state for gases and liquids"
1915 William Henry Bragg & William Lawrence Bragg "...analysis of crystal structure by...X-rays"
1918 Max Planck "services rendered to advancement of Physics by his discovery of energy quanta"
1921 Albert Einstein "...especially for his discovery of the law of the photoelectric effect"
1922 Niels Henrik David Bohr "for his services in the investigation of the structure of atoms and of the radiation emanating from them"
1923 Robert Andrews Millikan "for his work on the elementary charge of electricity and on the photoelectric effect"
1925 James Franck & Gustav Hertz "for his discovery of the effect named after him"
1926 Arthur Holly Compton "for his discovery of the effect named after him"
1929 Louis-Victor Pierre Raymond de Broglie "for his discovery of the wave nature of electrons"
1932 Werner Karl Heisenberg "for the creation of quantum mechanics..."
1933 Erwin Schrodinger and Paul Dirac "for the discovery of new productive forms of atomic theory"
1935 James Chadwick "for the discovery of the neutron"
1936 Victore Franz Hess Carl David Anderson Hess - "for his discovery of cosmic radiation" Anderson - "for his discovery of the positron"
1937 George Paget Thomson "...experimental discovery of the diffraction of electrons by crystals"
1938 Enrico Fermi "for his demonstrations of the existence of new radioactive elements produced by neutron irradiation and his related discovery of nuclear reactions brought about by slow neutrons"
1939 Ernest Otto Lawrence "for the invention and development of the cyclotron..."
1945 Wolfgang Pauli "for the discovery of the Exclusion Principle, also called the Pauli Principle"
1956 John Bardeen, William Shockely, Walter Brattain "for their researches on semiconductors and their discovery of the transistor effect"
1961 Robert Hofstadter "for his pioneering studies of electron scattering in atomic nuclei..."
1965 Richard Feynman, Sin-Itiero Tomonaga, & Julian Schwinger "for their fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics, with ... consequences for the physics of elementary particles"
1968 Luis Alvarez "for his decisive contributions to elementary particle physics, in particular the discovery of a large number of resonance states, made possible through his development of the technique of using hydrogen bubble chamber and data analysis"
1969 Murray Gell-Mann "for his contributions and discoveries concerning the classification of elementary particles and their interactions"
1971 Dennis Gabor "for his invention and development of the holographic method"
1972 John Bardeen, Leon Cooper, John Schriedffer "for their jointly developed theory of superconductivity, usually called the BCS-theory"
1975 Aage Niels Bohr "for his discovery of the connection between collective motion and particle motion in atomic nuclei and the development of the theory of the structure of the atomic nucleus based on this connection"
1978 Arno Penzias & Robert Wilson "for their discovery of cosmic microwave background radiation"
1981 Kai Siegbahn "...development of high-resolution electron spectroscopy"
1983 Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Chan - "for his theoretical studies of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars"
1901 Wilhelm Rontgen "the discovery of the remarkable rays subsequently named after him"
Created by: LeviD