Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Geog: Earthquakes

What is an earthquake? An earthquake is the sudden shaking of the earth, caused by movement in the earths crust.
Who are the scientists who study earthquakes? Seismologists
What is a seismograph and what does it do? The instrument used to measure and record an earthquake and how long it lasted.
What is the Richter scale? The original scale used to measure the magnitude of an earthquake was the Richter scale.
How does the Richter scale work? It goes from 1 to 8. Each unit increase means than the earthquake was 10 times more powerful than the previous unit.
Why don’t seismologists use the Richter scale and use the MMS instead? Because the Richter scale was less reliable for larger earthquake readings.
What is the moment magnitude scale and what is its features? Used to measure the magnitude of an earthquake. The scale goes from 1 to 10 and is more reliable for larger earthquakes than the Richter scale.
Focus? The point where an earthquake begins
Epicentre The point directly above the focus. It is where the earthquake can do the most damage.
Shock waves Otherwise known as seismic waves, The are waves of energy that spread out in circles from the focus.
Created by: KMcBride007