Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Vocab For Lesson 3

Vocab for Lesson 3 Biology

The levels of classification Domain, Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, and Species
Binomial Nomenclature Organisms are commonly referred to according to the two most specific taxonomic levels: genus and species, which are often Latin.
Taxonomist A scientist that studies taxonomy and use the classification system to identify and name organisms are taxonomists.
The 3 domains for classification Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukarya
Bacteria This domain consists of unicellular prokaryotes. They lack a cell nucleus and membrane-bound organelles, but they are surrounded by a thick cell wall.
Archea Made up of unicellular prokaryotes that also have a cell wall but differ in composition from bacteria. Archaean cell walls lack the substance peptidoglycan found in bacteria. Archean organism can also survive at extreme temperatures.
Eukarya This domain differs from the others because its membersā€˜ cells contain a nucleus and membrane-bound organelles.
The Four Kingdoms of Eukaryotes Protista, Plantae, Fungi, and Animalia.
Protista These ancient eukaryotes have some characteristics not shared by many other members of the domain, including the fact that many are unicellular. Even within the kingdom there is great diversity.
Plantae The Eukaryotic Kingdom mostly made up of plants which are multicellular autotrophs that photosynthesize for their energy. All members of this kingdom have the same basic parts including roots, stems, and leaves/
Fungi Fungi are multicellular, although yeasts a type of fungi are unicellular. Like plants, the cells of fungi have a cell wall. Fungi, however, cannot produce their own food through photosynthesis, so they are called heterotrophs.
Animalia Animalia is quite diverse. In addition to humans, it includes birds, fish, insects, and a wealth of other animals. What they all have in common is that animals are multicellular, are heterotrophic, and have cells lacking a cell wall.
2 Tools to classify organisms Cladograms and Dichtomus Keys
Created by: theneerajsuresh