Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how



When was symphony no.40 in G major written? In 1788.
Where was it intended to be performed? In large stately homes or small concert halls.
How many movements does the symphony have and which one are we studying? The symphony has four movements, this is the first one..
div.(viola part) = The players divide into groups.
1 = A single person plays this part.
a 2 = Both players play this part.
sf = Accent.
tr = Trill.
In what form is this piece written? It is written in sonata form.
What three parts make up the sonata form? The exposition, the development and the recapitulation.
The exposition covers the: First subject and second subject.
What key is the first subject of the Exposition in? G minor.
Description of the first subject in the Exposition: Melody that is characterized by a falling motif (2 semiquavers followed by one quaver).
Description of the second subject in the Exposition: Melody with descending chromatic patterns shared between strings and woodwind.
What key is the second subject of the Exposition in? B♭ major.
Development description: Based on the first subject which is developed and fragmented.
Development key? Moves through various keys, starts in F♯ minor.
Recapitulation description: The first and second subjects are repeated but they both have some variation. There is also a coda. All three parts are in G minor.
Brief description of coda: Repeated perfect cadences in G minor finish the piece!
What are most of the melodies made up of? Most of the melodies are made up of balanced four or eight bar phrases that sound like questions and answers.
Many phrases are based on what and therefore called what? Many melodies are based on scales and therefore called scalic.
Description of the harmony: The harmony is diatonic and functional. It is based around standard major and minor triads.
dis aint finished
Created by: eloiseis