Busy. Please wait.
Log in with Clever

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 
Sign up using Clever

Username is available taken
show password

Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
Your email address is only used to allow you to reset your password. See our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Didn't know it?
click below
Knew it?
click below
Don't Know
Remaining cards (0)
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

Week 2 - Normal Rad

9/21 - Normal Rad

***Should you use T1, T2, or PD for images pertaining to musculoskeletal? PD
***Which sequence has TR > 1000ms, TE<30ms, and a FA of 90 degrees? PD
Which sequence has a TR that varies? T2 weighted gradient echo (aka: GRASS)
What is an advantage of using GRASS sequencing? You can see small slices. Usually used for cervical spine and ACL
***Which sequence has a FA of 5-20 degrees? T2 weighted gradient echo (GRASS)
***Which sequence imaging is the only one to use inversion time (TI)? STIR (short tau inversion recovery.
***Which sequence imaging has a TR>2000ms, TE>60ms, and a FA 180 degrees? STIR
Which sequencing is the MOST SENSITIVE to see pathologies? STIR, it detects pathologies the earliest. *It CANCELs out FAT
What is another way to cancel out fat in terms of sequencing? Fat saturation imaging. (I didn't get much on this, sorry)
Q: A standard series of cervical x-rays consists of three views. What are they? A: The standard series consists of a Lateral Cervical Neutral (LCN), AP Lower Cervical (APLC), and AP Open Mouth (APOM).
Q: An extended series of cervical x-rays consists of five views. What are they? A: The extended series consists of all three standard series views (LCN, APLC, and APOM) PLUS a Left and Right Oblique (LPO, LAO, RPO, or RAO).
Q: A Davis series of cervical x-rays consists of seven views. What are they… and when is it used? A: The Davis series consists of all three standard series views (LCN, APLC, APOM) PLUS a Left and Right Oblique PLUS a Lateral Cervical Flexion and Extension. The Davis series is used in whiplash and trauma cases.
Which view shows IVFs? Oblique views
T/F when taking obliques it is ok to do a Left anterior oblique and a Right posterior oblique? NO way Jose! they will be showing the same IVF's
Which view is used to evaluate intersegmental movement? Lateral cervical flexion and extension
Name 4 contraindications to a flexion/extension study? 1.Fractures (unstable) 2.Dislocations 3.Malignancy 4.Infection. Therefore, it is very important to initially evaluate the cervical spine with a LCN after trauma prior to a flexion/extension study
Created by: pcc Normal Rad
Popular Radiology sets




Use these flashcards to help memorize information. Look at the large card and try to recall what is on the other side. Then click the card to flip it. If you knew the answer, click the green Know box. Otherwise, click the red Don't know box.

When you've placed seven or more cards in the Don't know box, click "retry" to try those cards again.

If you've accidentally put the card in the wrong box, just click on the card to take it out of the box.

You can also use your keyboard to move the cards as follows:

If you are logged in to your account, this website will remember which cards you know and don't know so that they are in the same box the next time you log in.

When you need a break, try one of the other activities listed below the flashcards like Matching, Snowman, or Hungry Bug. Although it may feel like you're playing a game, your brain is still making more connections with the information to help you out.

To see how well you know the information, try the Quiz or Test activity.

Pass complete!
"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards