Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how


WGU Foundations of Teaching

TermsDefinitions, etc.
Psychosocial Crisis Critical issue accompanying each of Erickson's 8 stages of development that a person must address as they pass through the stage. Failure to do so may keep person from being successful in later stages.
Trust v. Mistrust Stage Birth - 18 mo.; Goal is to develop a basic sense of trust in others and a sense of one's own trustworthiness. failure to reach this goal results in a sense of mistrust in others/the world.
Autonomy v. Doubt and Shame Stage 18 mo. - 3 yrs.; Goal is to gain the ability to do things for oneself. failure to gain a sense of autonomy leads to a sense of powerlessness/incompetence. Child may begin to doubt her abilities & feel guilty when she tries to show some independence.
Initiative v. Guilt Stage 3 - 6 yrs.; Goal is for child to explore her world so she can understand who she is within this context. Failure to reach this leads child to experience a sense of guilt about her desires to explore, which could limit her willingness to take chances.
Industry v. Inferiority Stage Goal is for the child to be successful in whatever she does, as success brings a positive sense of self/one's abilities. failure creates a negative self-image.
Identity v. Role Confusion Stage 12 - 18 yrs.; Goal is for teen to experiment with different roles, personality traits, etc. so as to develop a sense of who she is & what is personally important to her. failure to reach goal leads to a state of confusion which can interfere with life.
Intimacy v. Isolation Stage Young Adulthood - Goal is to create and maintain long-term friendships & sexual relationships. Failure may cause person to shy away from future relationships.
Generativity v. Self-Absorption Stage Middle Adulthood - Goal is to establish and guide the "next" generation and help others. Failure to do so may lead to stagnation, self-indulgence, and selfishness.
Integrity v. Despair Stage Late Adulthood - Goal is to accept one's accomplishments and life as having been worthwhile & come to terms with one's impending death. Failure to do so results in an overwhelming feeling of despair.
Created by: gdglgrl