Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Didn't know it?
click below
Knew it?
click below
Don't know
Remaining cards (0)
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

T&E1 death deing

stages of breiving

Denial characterized by a failure of the individual to believe that his/her condition is terminal. Therapists should attempt to establish trust with a patient in this stage and avoid trying to make the patient accept their condition.
The anger stage is characterized by frustration and negative emotional feelings often directed at anyone the individual comes in contact with.
Anger Individuals often ask “Why me?”
Anger Therapists should avoid taking the anger personally and recognize that expressing anger is often a useful step for the individual to move beyond this stage.
The bargaining stage is characterized by the individual trying to negotiate with fate.
bargaining stage The individual may try to make a deal with a higher being based on good behavior, compliance with an exercise program or dedication of their life to a specific cause.
bargaining stage Therapists should facilitate discussion with the patient and serve as a good listener.
The depression stage is characterized by the individual expressing the depths of his/her anguish.
depression The individual is often deeply depressed and may show little interest in any form of medical intervention.
depression Therapists should listen to the individual and exhibit a great deal of patience during this stage.
The acceptance stage is characterized by the individual coming to terms with their fate.
acceptance stage The individual may attempt to resolve any unfinished business and may experience a sense of inner peace.
acceptance stage Therapists should encourage the individual and family to ask questions and attempt to spend meaningful time with the individual.
Created by: micah10



Use these flashcards to help memorize information. Look at the large card and try to recall what is on the other side. Then click the card to flip it. If you knew the answer, click the green Know box. Otherwise, click the red Don't know box.

When you've placed seven or more cards in the Don't know box, click "retry" to try those cards again.

If you've accidentally put the card in the wrong box, just click on the card to take it out of the box.

You can also use your keyboard to move the cards as follows:

If you are logged in to your account, this website will remember which cards you know and don't know so that they are in the same box the next time you log in.

When you need a break, try one of the other activities listed below the flashcards like Matching, Snowman, or Hungry Bug. Although it may feel like you're playing a game, your brain is still making more connections with the information to help you out.

To see how well you know the information, try the Quiz or Test activity.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards