Busy. Please wait.

show password
Forgot Password?

Don't have an account?  Sign up 

Username is available taken
show password


Make sure to remember your password. If you forget it there is no way for StudyStack to send you a reset link. You would need to create a new account.
We do not share your email address with others. It is only used to allow you to reset your password. For details read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Already a StudyStack user? Log In

Reset Password
Enter the associated with your account, and we'll email you a link to reset your password.
Don't know
remaining cards
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the "Know" box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the "Don't know" box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

"Know" box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards
Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

HIT ch 8&11

Medicaid Title XIX of the Social Security Act of 1965 established:
Medicaid is administered by: The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
SSI is a cash benefit program controlled by: The Social Security Administration
Categorically needy individuals typically include: Low-income families with children, individuals receiving SSI, pregnant women, infants, and children with incomes less than a specified percent of the FPL, Qualifying Medicare beneficiaries (QMBs)
The term used for the process od depleting private or family finances to the point where the individual/family becomes eligible for the Medicaid assistance is called: Spend Down
The program that provides comprehensive alternative care for noninstitutionalized elderly who otherwise would be in a nursing home is known as: PACE-Program if All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly
Medicaid coverage should be verified: No less than once a month
Aged or disabled individuals who are very poor are covered under the Medicaid and Medicare programs, commonly referred to as: Dual eligibles and Medi-Medi
Medicare beneficiaries who qualify for certain Medicaid benefits if they have incomes below the FPL and resources at or below twice the standard allowed under the SSI program are known as: QMBs- Qualifying Medicare beneficiaries
When one state allows Medicaid beneficiaries from other states to be treated in its medical facilities, this exchange of privileges is referred to as Reciprocity
Workers' compensation got its start in the 1800s in Germany
In workers' compensation insurance, the premiums are paid for by: The employer
The federal program that establishes workers' compensation for nonmilitary federal government employees is known by the acronym: FECA- Federal Employment Compensation Act
The federal program that establishes workers' compensation for railroad workers engaged in interstate commerce is known by the acronym: FELA- Federal Employment Liability Act
An individual responsible for investigating and resolving workers' complaints against the employer or insurance company that is denying the benefits is called an: Ombudsman
The time limit for filing a workers' compensation claim is established by: Individual state statutes
An injury or illness that is job related typically must be reported to the employer The time limits vary from state to state
A patient's inability to perform normal job duties at the previous level of expertise as a result of being absent from work is called: Job deconditioning
After the initial attending physician report has been filed, periodic updates must be provided to the employer/insurer, called: Progress reports and Supplemental reports
The type of insurance that replaces a portion of earned income when an individual is unable to perform the requirements of his job because of non-job-related injury is called: Disability insurance
The maximum amount of benefits that can be received in a specific time period is called: Benefit cap
The federal act established in 1990 that protects the civil rights of individuals with disabilities is called the: Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
The examining body that determines in an applicant qualifies for SSDI is the: State Disability Determination unit
The method of determining whether or not an individual is eligible for SSI benefits is through a Financial means test
The program that provides greater choice in selecting the providers and rehabilitation services disabled individuals need to help them keep working or return to work is called: Ticket to Work
Created by: momangulo