Reset Password Free Sign Up

incorrect cards (0)
correct cards (0)
remaining cards (0)
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the Correct box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the Incorrect box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

Correct box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards

Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

WR--Buddhism #1

DSST World Religions

Anatta The Buddhist notion that there is no eternal soul, unlike in Hinduism. Instead, each living person is an association of five skandas, which fly apart at death. The term literally means "no soul."
Arhat Worthy One who has followed the Buddha’s Eightfold Path to liberation, broken the fetters that bind us to the suffering of the Wheel of Birth and Death, and arrived at nirvana; the Theravadan ideal.
Awakening A Zen term for enlightenment.
Bodhisattva In Mahayana Buddhism, one who has attained enlightenment but renounces nirvana for the sake of helping all sentient beings in their journey to liberation from suffering.
Dalai Lama The bodhisattva who is the reincarnation of Avalokiteshvara, a.k.a. Chenrezig, the bodhisattva of Compassion. He is a single being who has been reincarnated 14 times
Dharma/ Dhamma The teachings of the Buddha.
Dhammapada A collection of short sayings attributed to Buddha.
Dukkha According to the Buddha, a central fact of human life,all life is suffering
Eightfold Path the eight steps by which a person can achieve Nirvana. 1) Right Understanding or Views. 2) Right Thoughts or Intent. 3) Right Speech. 4) Right Actions or Conduct. 5) Right livelihood. 6) Right effort. 7) Right mindfulness. 8) Right concentration.
Enlightenment This is the usual English translation of the Sanskrit word "bodhi," which literally means "awakening." It is achieved by following the Eight-fold path, and therefore constitutes freedom from all desires.
Five Precepts Minimum set of moral rules for both the lay people and monks. They forbid (1) theft, (2) improper sexual practices (adultery for lay people, sexual activity of any kind for monks), (3) killing, (4) lying and deceiving, and (5) drinking alcoholic drinks.
Four Noble Truths The most basic statement of Buddhist belief: (1) All is suffering (dukkha). (2) Suffering is caused by desire. (3) If one can eliminate desire, they can eliminate suffering. (4) The Noble Eight-fold Path can eliminate desire.
Guru A teacher or guide for a novice.
Karma In Hinduism and Buddhism, our actions and their effects on this life and lives to come. In Jainism, subtle particles that accumulate on the soul as a result of one’s thoughts and actions.
Koan In Zen Buddhism, a paradoxical puzzle to be solved without ordinary thinking.
Lama A Tibetan Buddhist monk, particularly one of the highest in the hierarchy.
Mantra A sound that is used as a focus for mediation or worship. Similar to Hinduism.
Nirvana In Buddhism, the ultimate egoless state of bliss.
Pali The Indian dialect first used for writing down the teachings of the Buddha, which were initially held in memory, and still used today in the Canon of scriptures recognized by the Theravadins.
Puja A act of worship or devotion to a buddha or a bodhisattva.
Samsara The continual round of birth, death, and rebirth in Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism.
Sangha In Theravada Buddhism, the monastic community; in Mahayana, the spiritual community of followers of the dharma.
Sannyasin In Hinduism and Buddhism, a renunciate spiritual seeker.
Siddhartha The Buddha's given name, or first name. His surname was Gautama.
Stupa A rounded monument containing Buddhist relics or commemorative materials.
Ten Precepts This is the code of monastic discipline for the monks. It consists of the Five Precepts (no stealing, sexual activity, killing, lying, or alcohol) which apply to all Buddhists, and five further restrictions designed specifically for members of the sangha
Theravada The remaining orthodox school of Buddhism, which adheres closely to the earliest scriptures and emphasizes individual efforts to liberate the mind from suffering.
Tripitaka The foundational "Three Baskets" of Buddha"s teachings.
Triple Gem The Three Jewels of Buddhism: Buddha, dharma, sangha.
Zen Buddhism A branch of Mahayana Buddhism which was brought to China in 520 CE It is probably the most common form of Buddhism in the West. Practitioners must usually devote themselves to a life as a monk, for it requires extensive periods of meditation.
Ahimsa Non-violence to all living things.
Created by: pinetreeacademy on 2012-03-27

Copyright ©2001-2014  StudyStack LLC   All rights reserved.