Welcome to StudyStack, where users create FlashCards and share them with others. Click on the large flashcard to flip it over. Then click the green, red, or yellow box to move the current card to that box. Below the flashcards are blue buttons for other activities that you can try to study the same information.
Test Android StudyStack App
Please help StudyStack get a grant! Vote here.
Reset Password Free Sign Up

Free flashcards for serious fun studying. Create your own or use sets shared by other students and teachers.

Remove Ads
incorrect cards (0)
correct cards (0)
remaining cards (0)
To flip the current card, click it or press the Spacebar key.  To move the current card to one of the three colored boxes, click on the box.  You may also press the UP ARROW key to move the card to the Correct box, the DOWN ARROW key to move the card to the Incorrect box, or the RIGHT ARROW key to move the card to the Remaining box.  You may also click on the card displayed in any of the three boxes to bring that card back to the center.

Pass complete!

Correct box contains:
Time elapsed:
restart all cards

Embed Code - If you would like this activity on your web page, copy the script below and paste it into your web page.

  Normal Size     Small Size show me how

buddhism vocab

wc quiz

Anatta one of the 3ME – doctrine denying a permanent self
Anicca one of the 3ME – doctrine that all existent things are constantly changing
Arhat one who has become enlightened – ideal for Theravada Buddhism
Buddha Siddhartha Gautama and all others who have by their own insight attained perfect enlightenment
Dharma teachings of Buddha and one of the three Jewels of Buddhism
Dukkha first of the 4 Noble truths – basic Buddhist insight that suffering is part of the human condition
Five precepts basic moral requirements that are binding for all Buddhists
Four noble truths central teachings – to live is to suffer, suffering is caused by desire, cessation of suffering can be achieved, the solution is the Noble Eightfold Path
Karma moral law od cause and effect of actions – determines the nature of one’s rebirth
Middle way basic Buddhist teaching that rejects both the pleasures of sensual indulgence and the self-denial of asceticism – focusing instead on a practical approach to spiritual attainment
Nirvana ultimate goal of all Buddhists – extinction of desire and any sense of individual selfhood
Noble eightfold path 4th of the 3NT - defines basic practices of Buddhism that lead to Nirvana
Pali ancient language of India – more commonly understood – used in writings of the earliest Buddhist texts – most important for Theravada Buddhism
Samsara wheel of rebirth
Sangha Buddhist community of monks and nuns – one of the 3 Jewels of Buddhism
Tanha 2nd of the 4NT – selfish desire which causes dukkha
Theravada prevalent form of Buddhism in Cambodia, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand – focuses n the earliest texts and emphasizes monastic lifestyle
Three marks of existence characteristics that summarize the changing nature of reality: anatta (no-self), anicca (impermanence) and dukkha (suffering)
Created by: desantis75205 on 2012-02-21

bad sites Copyright ©2001-2015  StudyStack LLC   All rights reserved.